Derrell C. Roberts Library: About Us
The Derrell C. Roberts Library provides access to an extensive collection of resources and services. This recently expanded and renovated 57,700 square foot facility houses approximately 135,597 volumes, over 200 current periodical subscriptions, 10,000+ media items, 59,609+ e-books, and is a selective federal government documents repository. Other resources include small collections of popular titles and children’s award winning literature, small group study rooms which are primarily reserved for groups of two or more students.
Books, periodicals, government documents, e-books, and media can be identified by using the GIL-Find Online Catalog . The Derrell C. Roberts Library staff will gladly assist library users find their way through the growing maze of information sources. Dalton State affiliated patrons can use the catalog to locate materials owned by other USG libraries to facilitate interlibrary loan or GIL Express borrowing.
Through the GALILEO (Georgia Library Learning Online) virtual library, 88 workstations offer access to 200+ full-text databases with over 64,000 full-text periodicals, subject indexes and directories, online reference materials, and Georgia documents and historical papers. GALILEO, Georgia’s statewide library consortia, is essential in providing library users with online resources through cooperative licensing. Library users may access these resources on campus without a password. All students and faculty, including distance learners, can gain off-campus access by going to the library’s main page and entering their DSC username and password.
Distance learning and off-campus students can get assistance from our Ask-A-Librarian link service, or from one of our community partner libraries in Pickens, and Gilmer counties. You can physically visit the library 6 days a week during main semesters and virtually visit the library 24/7 via the library’s web site . Library hours, including changes in schedule for summer, holidays and intercession, are available by clicking on the hours link below.
The Roberts Library staff encourages you to take full advantage of the resources and services that the library has to offer. We look forward to seeing and hearing from you. Suggestions and questions are encouraged either in person, by e-mail, text, or in our Suggestion Box which is located in the library foyer. Make the Roberts Library a regular part of your college experience.
Greetings from the Library Director
I am delighted to extend my warmest greetings to you. Whether you are just starting your academic journey or continuing your studies, the library is here to be an essential part of your educational experience. Libraries have always been places of learning, discovery, and inspiration. Our library is no exception. It is a hub of knowledge, a quiet sanctuary for studying, and a collaborative space for academic growth. We are committed to providing the resources, services, and support you need to excel in your studies and research endeavors.
At Dalton State College Library, you'll find a vast collection of books, journals, databases, and digital resources covering a wide range of subjects. Our dedicated librarians and staff are eager to assist you in navigating these resources, conducting research, and developing your information literacy skills. In addition to our physical library, our digital library resources are accessible 24/7, allowing you to explore and learn at your convenience. Whether you're on or off campus, you can access e-books, academic journals, and research databases to enhance your academic pursuits.
Our library is not just about books and databases; it's also a place to connect with fellow students, attend workshops, and engage in events that foster intellectual curiosity and academic success. We encourage you to take full advantage of all the opportunities the library has to offer. As you embark on this academic journey, remember that the library is here to support you in your quest for knowledge and excellence. Feel free to contact us with any questions or requests you may have. We are here to help you succeed.
I look forward to seeing you in the library, whether it's for research, study sessions, or simply a quiet place to read and reflect. Together, we can make your time at Dalton State College enriching and academically fulfilling. Wishing you a successful and rewarding academic year!
Melissa D. Whitesell
Executive Director of Library Services and Sponsored Programs
Derrell C. Roberts Library