Skip to main content Site Map

Grants and Sponsored Programs: Institutional & USG Data

Frequently Required Codes

IPEDS code - 139463
Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN) or the Federal Tax Identification Number -  58-0975068
Federal Interagency Committee on Education (FICE) Institution Code – 3956 
DUNS # - 075875294

What is a DUNS number?

The Data Universal Numbering System (DUNS) number is a unique nine-digit identification number provided by Dun & Bradstreet (D&B). The DUNS number is site specific. Therefore, each distinct physical location of an entity such as branches, divisions and headquarters, may be assigned a DUNS number.

Who needs a DUNS number?

Any institution that wants to submit a grant application to the federal government. 

About Dalton State College

Name: Dalton State College

Official Address: 650 College Drive, Dalton, GA 30720

President: Dr. Margaret Venable (mvenable@daltonstate.edu)(link sends e-mail)

Financial Officer: Nick Henry (nhenry@daltonstate.edu) 

County: Whitfield County (main campus); Gilmer County (Ellijay campus) 

Congressional District: 14th 

Georgia Senate District54th

Date of incorporation: 1968

Carnegie Classification: Baccalaureate Colleges—Arts & Sciences

Whitfield Elected Officials 

 

Statistics

The following listing is made available by the UTC Office of Research and Sponsored Programs: 

Compelling proposals often include data and statistics to support the need for the project and/or bolster the case for the proposed activities or research. 

Science and Engineering Indicators 2018

Full online access to Science and Engineering Indicators 2018 is now available. This provides a broad base of quantitative information on the U.S. and international science and engineering enterprise. Supporting appendix tables are available in spreadsheet format. Accompanying SEI 2018 are the interactive Science and Engineering Indicators Digest and the redesigned State Data Tool, which provides a wealth of information on science and technology infrastructure by state and allows in-depth exploration of these data.

STEMConnector

STEMConnector™ is a nationwide collaboration of companies, nonprofit associations and professional societies, STEM-related research & policy organizations, and academic institutions concerned about the plight of STEM education in the United States.  STEMConnector™ is designed to link "all things STEM" by constructing a comprehensive Web Site that provides connections to national, state and local STEM entities and their own content through a variety of search tools.

Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD)

The OECD seeks to promote policies that will improve economic and social well-being of people by providing a forum in which governments can work together to come up with solutions to common economic, social, and environmental problems.  Among other things, the OECD provides a wealth of statistics that could be useful in developing proposals.  Recently, data from this organization was featured in an Education Week article titled "High Achievers Scarce in Math, Science in U.S."

EPE Research Center

The Editorial Projects in Education (EPE) Research Center is a division of Editorial Projects in Education, the non-profit organization that publishes Education Week.  The Center conducts annual policy surveys, collects data, and performs analyses that appear in various education publications.  For example, data from EPE was used in a recent Education Week article titled "State Performance and Policymaking: Weighing In, Measuring Up" and the included table, "Chance for Success."

Education Dashboard

The U.S. Education Dashboard provides convenient access to key national and state education data, noting the progress being made at all levels of the education system and encouraging communities to participate in an informed conversation about their schools. 

U.S. Census Bureau

The U.S. Census Bureau website offers useful facts and figures that can strengthen your proposal, including housing, income, educational status, and other demographic data.   

Annie E. Casey Foundation KIDS COUNT

KIDS COUNT is a part of the Annie E. Casey Foundation, which works to build better futures for disadvantaged children and their families in the United States.  Through the KIDS COUNT website you can find a national and state-by-state database showing the status of children in the U.S (click here to see Tennessee's statistics).  By providing policymakers and citizens with benchmarks of child well-being, KIDS COUNT seeks to enrich local, state, and national discussions concerning ways to secure better futures for all children.

U.S. Department of Education

The U.S. Department of Education's website includes a wealth of potentially helpful information including a section on Research and Statistics

National Science Foundation

The National Science Foundation offers many grant programs each year.  In addition to finding grants on this website, you can also find statistics on education, the federal government, industry, and more.  The NSF website also provides science and engineering news and the latest discoveries that NSF has helped to bring about through their funding and research.

NSF also provides statistical information about the participation of Women, Minorities, and Persons with Disabilities in Science and Engineering education and employment. Women, Minorities, and Persons with Disabilities in Science and Engineering (S&E) provides a broad base of quantitative information about the participation of women, minorities, and persons with disabilities in S&E higher education and employment. Data in this report are updated on a rolling basis. Updates in this release cover graduate enrollment, degrees awarded (associate's, bachelor's, master's, and doctoral degrees), characteristics of doctorate recipients' academic institutions, primary source of financial support for doctoral recipients, and postdoctorate status.

Monitoring America's Children

The Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics was officially created in 1997 and is the result of a merging between the Office of Managment and Budget and six other Federal agencies. The organization publishes statistics that are indicative of child and family well-being. The report identifies 38 key indicators of a child's well-being and is organized and written to be understood by a wide audience.FOR MORE INFORMATION, PLEASE GO TO http://childstats.gov/americaschildren/

Robert Wood Johnson Foundation

The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation provides state-by-state chartbooks on various health issues. One chartbook, for national adult's health, investigates health across social and economic groups – examines the differences in adults’ health based on their levels of education. The second chartbook, for national children's health, examines the health of children from different socioeconomic backgrounds in every state to document how healthy our nation's children are now and how healthy they could be if we as a nation were realizing our full health potential. These chartbooks particularly focus on the connection between education and health outcomes.

http://www.commissiononhealth.org/StateByStateData.aspx