It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Community economic development (CED) is an increasingly essential factor in the revitalization of low- to moderate-income communities. This text explores the intersection of CED and social work practice, which both focus on the well-being of indigent communities and the empowerment of individuals and the communities in which they live. This textbook emphasizes a holistic approach to community building that combines business and real-estate development with a focus on stimulating family self-reliance and community empowerment. The result is an innovative approach to rehabilitating communities in decline while preserving resident demographics. The authors delve deep into the social, political, human, and financial capital involved in effecting change and how race and regional issues can complicate approaches and outcomes. Throughout, they integrate case examples to illustrate their strategies.
This is a practical guide for MSN project students and DNP capstone students who must plan and organize their clinical projects into quality proposals. It provides the requisite guidelines for integrating research and best evidence with clearly communicated professional objectives.
His text takes a novel, non-formulaic approach in teaching readers how to "write a grant" -- and much more. The authors draw on their decades of experience working with both investigators and NIH personnel to anticipate their questions and concerns and help establish a comfortable, productive partnership between them. With this book's focus on applying this knowledge to their personal grant strategy, readers will learn: how the NIH operates at the corporate level, as well as the culture and policies of individual institutes and centers, how the NIH budget evolves over the course of a fiscal year and why the timing is important, how to customize NIH Web site searches and use the data to increase chances of success, how to identify appropriate program officers, study sections, and funding opportunities. The authors advise readers on developing each component of the grant application in order of the components' influence on the final impact score. Individual funding mechanisms are reviewed along with grantsmanship tips specific to each.
Find, apply for, and win grant dollars for the classroom This accessible guide offers a proven, step-by-step process for researching, writing, applying for, and winning education grants. The book educates readers on the basics of grant writing, including what sources are the most reliable for securing education funding. It also serves as a practice tool, with worksheets, proposal templates, real-world examples, and advice from grant-winning teachers to help instill confidence about navigating this somewhat daunting process. Offers a proven formula for winning education grants in clear, step-by-step instructions Includes a wealth of handy tools, worksheets, templates, and teacher-tested advice Outlines the four main components of money-generating education grants Based on UNITE's celebrated "Grant Writing Teacher" Professional Development series The book's step-by-step process is filled with illustrative examples of successful grant proposals.
Many social work students today lack the basic writing skills they will need to practice effectively with clients. This user-friendly guide to effective writing skills focuses specifically on the types of writing social work practitioners are required to do in everyday practice: writing for agency reports, client documentation, court letters, and grant writing applications, among other documents. It includes abundant real-world examples drawn from all arenas of social work practice.
Writing Successful Grant Proposals highlights key things savvy proposal writers do to attract and secure prospective funders. With clear, concise instructions, this book demystifies grant proposal writing, from the initial development phase, to the writing and submissions phase, to the grant award phase, to the final delivery of project results phase.
This book addresses a specific subset of nonprofits that are chartered with a single mission: decrease the burden of government. Designing and engaging nonprofits to lessen the burden of government requires a specific description and acknowledgement of the burden to be lessened, and these may include the provision of infrastructure, the relief of debt, or the provision of general public services that are not motivated by charity. It also requires the assignment of specific operating powers to the nonprofit including the power of eminent domain. This book explores these and other related topics including the avoidance of resource dependence on government when attempting to reduce its burden. The book is addressed to the policy makers and rule makers who design policies that affect the ability of the nonprofit to effectively lessen the burden of government.
This fully updated and revised edition of a classic guide to grant writing for health and human service professionals reflects the two major changes in the field: new NIH application processes and an increased emphasis on interprofessional and team approaches to science. New case examples reflect grant writing strategies for a great variety of health and human service professions, and the text includes an enhanced focus on online methods for organizing grant submissions. A new section on special considerations for submitting grants addresses specific types of research including mixed methods, behavioral intervention research, secondary analyses, translational research, and comparative effectiveness studies. The new chapter on common writing challenges and solutions provides examples of strong and weak statements and highlights the importance of writing with precision. Additionally, this new edition provides an expanded section on post-award requirements and links to NIH videos about grant writing. Written for individuals in both academic and practice settings, the guide addresses, step-by-step, the fundamental principles for effectively securing funding. It is the only book to provide grant-writing information that encompasses many disciplines and to focus on building a research career with grant writing as a step-wise process. It provides detailed, time-tested strategies for building an investigative team, highlights the challenges of collaboration, and describes how to determine the expertise needed for a team and the roles of co-investigators. The book addresses the needs of both novice and more experienced researchers. New to the Fourth Edition: .: Reflects recent changes to the field including an emphasis on interprofessional approaches to science and new NIH application processes; Offers additional case examples relevant to social work, nursing, psychology, rehabilitation, and occupational, physical, and speech therapies; Provides links to NIH websites containing videos on grant writing; Includes chapter opener objectives; Expands section on post-award requirements; Focuses on electronic mechanisms for organizing grant submissions including software such as RefWorks and google alerts; Enlarges appendices to include charts, graphics, grant application samples and Aims page samples full of errors with answers provide
A practical, proven system for finding, applying for, and winning grants for your small business This year alone, there is at least $350 million worth of grant money available for small businesses. But plenty of small businesses will miss out on that money because they either don't know it's there or don't know how to get it. Written by a consultant who helps individuals, local governments, and nonprofits find and receive grant money, Find Grant Funding Now! provides proven, step-by-step guidance on applying for and win the grant money they need to succeed. Utilizing the simple five-step process that the author successfully uses for her own clients, this is virtually the only book on the market dedicated to helping small businesses get grants. It features a wealth of valuable resources and even a customized Grant Readiness Assessment Tool that helps entrepreneurs and small business owners make sure they're fully prepared before they file the paperwork. Includes a proven and effective Five-Step Prosperity Process for finding and landing grants Features sample forms, checklists, budgets, merit reviews, 30- and 60-day grant project management plans, and more Written by the founder of a full-service funding firm that helps entrepreneurs, communities, universities, trade associations, and cooperatives obtain grant funds from governments and foundations If you need cash to start or expand your small business, Find Grant Funding Now! offers a practical system that gets real results.
This book was written in response to the needs of faculty and graduate students for a meaningful guide that starts where they begin a research project - with their very best ideas - and progresses in an orderly fashion to: "Develop their starting ideas to the fullest "Find sources of support that intersect most appropriately with their core interests "Write a proposal that builds systematically on their ideas and interests and makes a beginning contribution to knowledge "Conduct the project with innovative guidelines on project management that help the PI and the project team participate in and experience the excitement of bringing a research project to life
Effective Planning Strategies and Proposal Writing: A Workbook for Helping Professionals provides a comprehensive review of planning strategies and related concepts, including leadership and the role of the helping professional as 'change agent.' The text intends to de-mystify planning processes and related jargon for graduate students and practitioners in the helping professions and provides examples from the field. Effective grant-writing is emphasized, as well as information related to planning for change through the use of small groups and activities. In the authors' experience, many professionals recognize the need for effective planning, but often balk at using material that seems too far removed from their scope of expertise and academic discipline. The text presents material in a straightforward manner that is intended to make planning accessible and meaningful to these individuals who are uniquely qualified to effect positive change.
Community foundations bring together the resources of individuals, families, and businesses to support effective nonprofits in their communities. Over the years, foundations have come to engage community problem-solving through more than just grant-making. They have added a rich array of other activities, including programs of community capacity building, active modes of advocacy, and centres for meeting. In 2011, the 700+ institutions in the United States gave an estimated $4.2 billion to a variety of nonprofit activities in fields that included the arts and education, health and human services, the environment, and disaster relief. The origins of this book stem from conversations among the leadership of community foundations about the challenges they must overcome in order to make such "foundational" contributions to their communities. As community foundations enter the second century of their existence (the first foundation was formed in Cleveland in 1914), the need for knowledge and best practices has never been greater. This book, with expert authors representing the best and the brightest in this important field, fills that need.