Skip to main content Site Map

Disability Access: RESOURCES

RESOURCES FOR ALL

Americans with Disabilities Act     www.ada.gov

Information and Technical Assistance on the Americans with Disabilities Act.

 

Alternative Media Access Center      https://amacusg.gatech.edu/

AMAC's expertise, tools and technology empower not only college disability service providers, but also K-12 educators, corporations, non-profits, and government institutions throughout the United States, to provide equal access to education, work and life for individuals with disabilities of all kinds.

 

American Sign Language Lessons

Learn this expressive language. Speak with your hands, hear with your eyes.

@ Dalton Seventh-day Adventist Church 300 S. Tibbs Rd. 

For more information please e-mail:  srharrison@optilink.us   No cost

706 537-1647

 

Best Practices when Interacting with Persons with Disabilities

A customer service guide from Georgia State Financing and Investment Commission State ADA Coordinator’s Office

http://ada.georgia.gov/sites/ada.georgia.gov/files/related_files/document/BestPractices%20Handbook%20final%20copy%20with%20Corrina%20M%20foreward.pdf

 

Career Opportunities for Students with Disabilities     http://www.cosdonline.org/home

COSD’s mission is to assist you, a college student or a recent graduate with a disability, to have the tools and the knowledge to a have a career of your choice.

 

College Autism Spectrum                CollegeAutismSpectrum

College Autism Spectrum (CAS) is an independent organization of professionals whose purpose is to assist students with autism spectrum disorders, and their families.

We specialize in COLLEGE COUNSELING (helping students find the right college) and WORK READINESS (skill building for interviews, jobs and work skills).

 

College Success Program for students who are blind or visually impaired

www.learningally.org/collegesuccess

 

Department of Homeland Security—Ready Program     www.ready.gov 

Provides information regarding disaster preparation and recovery for individuals with disabilities. 

 

Dyslexia Resources

Adult Dyslexia Screener

https://dyslexiaida.org/screening-for-dyslexia/dyslexia-screener-for-adults/

Provider Directory (GA)

https://app.box.com/s/ncf5kk62ql7ezqu8367a

Provider Directory (TN)

https://app.box.com/s/1fv7lw1m6ijvf8bj8n02

Dyslexic Font Download- FREE

http://opendyslexic.org/

 

Foreign Language/French/Resources

Through AMAC the student has access to Text Help Read and Write Gold that has a translation tool

http://readwrite.texthelp.com/rw6mac/help/ReadWriteMac/Using%20Read%20and%20Write%20Gold/Translator.html

http://www.amacusg.gatech.edu/wiki/index.php?title=Available_Software

Premier Literacy Suite that has a French talking dictionary

http://www.premierliteracy.net/PCLPP

Dragon does allow user to set up  a profile in two different languages

https://www.reference.com/technology/change-language-dragon-naturallyspeaking-afc3398b65ed32ee

Text Help Fluency tutor is a chrome extension available that may be helpful.

https://www.texthelp.com/en-us/products/fluencytutor/

https://www.texthelp.com/en-us/company/education-blog/september-2016/practice-foreign-language-text-with-fluency-tutor/

Duolingo (Check out what is on Read & Write):  

Web: https://www.duolingo.com

iPhone: https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/duolingo/id570060128?mt=8

Android: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.duolingo&hl=en

Rosetta Stone (includes apps for mobile devices):

Web: https://www.rosettastone.com/

Free Demo: https://www.rosettastone.com/demo

 

Georgia Vocational Rehabilitation (VR) Services     http://gvra.georgia.gov/vocational-rehabilitation-program 

Provides services to help eligible persons with disabilities prepare for, start, and maintain competitive employment, thus becoming productive and independent citizens in their communities. VR has 15 regional offices statewide, as well as more than 50 local offices with expert teams who work in the community and have in-depth knowledge of both the marketplace and the support services available. Customers are therefore able to benefit from opportunities tailored to their specific needs.      Dalton office: 706-272-2303

 

How to use JAWS with Microsoft Office and PowerPoint

http://www.geocities.ws/jawsnotes/powerpoint.htm

using JAWS with powerpoint

using JAWS with microsoft office

 

LD Adults of Georgia   http://www.ldag.org/   

Mission is to provide information to, advocate for, and increase public awareness of adults with learning disabilities and/or attention deficit disorders.      

 

Livescribe Resources:

Livescribe: https://www.livescribe.com/en-us/smartpen/echo/

Video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lg5QQHlepF0

 

National Disability Institute- LEAD Center               http://www.leadcenter.org/

The LEAD Center is a collaborative of disability, workforce and economic empowerment organizations dedicated to a single mission:  advancing sustainable individual and systems level change to improve competitive, integrated employment and economic self-sufficiency for all people across the spectrum of disability.

 

National Organization of Nurses with Disabilities      http://www.nond.org/

NOND is the voice of disability in nursing!

 

National Youth Transitions Center- HEATH Resource Center

The HEATH Resource Center at the National Youth Transitions Center has a financial aid publication for youth with disabilities and families. We highlight several scholarship resources for youth with disabilities in the back of the publication.

https://heath.gwu.edu/2014-2015-heath-nytc-planning-ahead-financial-aid-students-disabilities

In addition, we have a list of financial aid, scholarships, and internship resources in our Links section of our website:

https://heath.gwu.edu/financial-aid-scholarships-and-internships

 

Office of Disability Employment Policy- United States Dept. of Labor     http://www.dol.gov/odep/

ODEP's mission is to develop and influence policies and practices that increase the number and quality of employment opportunities for people with disabilities.

 

Pass it on Center       www.passitoncenter.org

Recycle, refurbish, and exchange Assistive Technology

 

Post Traumatic Stress Disorder

http://www.upworthy.com/know-what-to-look-for-the-4-big-signs-of-ptsd-laid-out-in-less-than-4-minutes?c=upw1

 

Regents Center for Learning Disorders at Georgia State University (Atlanta)  http://rcld.gsu.edu 

Provides comprehensive evaluations by qualified licensed professionals with experience in evaluating adults with learning disorders, ADHD, Acquired Brain Injury, and psychological/psychiatric impairments.         404-413-6245

 

Some very useful features included with Apple’s iOS 8, specifically for people who are blind and have low vision.

http://www.macstories.net/stories/an-overview-of-ios-8s-new-accessibility-features/

 

Substance Abuse Resources and Disability Issues (SARDI)      www.med.wright.edu/citar/sardi

Provides information regarding the risk of substance abuse for individuals with disabilities.  

 

TextAid in GeorgiaView

ReadSpeaker TextAid is a new language translation and accessibility tool available to all DSC faculty, staff and students in GeorgiaVIEW. This popular new tool can translate into 5 languages including Spanish, Chinese, French and German and then read the translation out loud in the native language. There are numerous accessibility features in TextAid such as a read-a-loud calculator, line-by-line highlighting for reading, and a conversion of text to MP3 tool. ReadSpeaker TextAid can be easily accessed in any GeorgiaVIEW course under GeorgiaVIEW resources. 

To learn more about using TextAid  watch my how-to-video here

 

The National Center on Disability and Access to Education     http://ncdae.org/resources/cheatsheets/

Increasing universal access by developing educational resources

These one-page accessibility resources, or “cheatsheets,” have been developed to assist anyone who is creating accessible content. These free resources are catered to less-technical individuals, such as faculty and staff.

 

Tools for Life     www.gatfl.org  

Tools for Life, Georgia's Assistive Technology Act Program, is dedicated to increasing access to and acquisition of assistive technology (AT) devices and services for Georgians of all ages and disabilities so they can live, learn, work and play independently and with greater freedom in communities of their choice. 

 

Vision Rehabilitation Services (VRS) of Georgia   http://www.vrsga.org/   

Dedicated to assisting individuals, of all ages, who are blind or visually impaired so they may function independently in all of their environments.VRS provides practical tools and proven techniques to help our clients carry out their daily activities.

 

Vision resources for computer use

Color filters for Windows: https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/4344736/windows-10-use-color-filters 

Green full page overlays ((you can cut these up into any size or shape you want: https://www.reallygoodstuff.com/irlen-overlays-single-color-set-of-6/p/706663/

Yellow only single line filter pack:  https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07MDF5JNT/ref=cm_sw_em_r_mt_dp_U_LIixCb0HZFCQ4

Computer/gaming glasses: https://www.amazon.com/Computer-Reading-Glasses-Protect-Reflective/dp/B01FIS2T6Q

Read & Write for chrome: https://www.texthelp.com/en-us/products/read-write/read-write-for-google/

Here are some examples of browser plug-ins that support changing background/foreground color for achieving higher or alternative contrast:

 

Voice dictation for computer use

Google Voice Typing: https://support.google.com/docs/answer/4492226?hl=en

Video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pLZJE0vlstA (Skip to 1:32 to skip ad in video)

 

Windows Speech Recognition: https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/14213/windows-how-to-use-speech-recognition

Video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b2jpjf1lrQQ  

Some quick Tips for Success: https://blogs.msdn.microsoft.com/mis_laboratory/2009/11/18/windows-speech-recognition-tips-for-success/

 

2-year, 4-year & secondary support programs     College_Autism_Spectrum_Programs

Programs for Students with Asperger Syndrome

 

25 years of the Americans with Disabilities Act

http://www.adasoutheast.org/news/articles.php?id=7830