Government Publications & Information: Essential Databases

Official U. S. gateway to all government information.

Current and past legislation.

Free access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government

US Congressional Reports, Documents, News, & Social Media

Searches over 36 databases and 1,850 selected websites, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information, including research and development results.

"Providing permanent public access to the electronic Web sites and publications of defunct U.S. government agencies and commissions." From the University of North Texas and GPO.

Population, housing, economic, and geographic data from the US Census Bureau

Provides learning tools for K-12 students, parents, and teachers

Issued by the Office of Management and Budget (OMB), the Budget of the United States Government is a collection of documents that contains the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications that have been issued throughout the fiscal year.

Searchable database of federal assistance listings available to State and local governments; tribal governments; domestic public, quasi- public, and private profit and nonprofit organizations and institutions; specialized groups, and individuals

Finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online.

Quick, easy access to facts about people, business, and geography from the US Census Bureau.

Click on "advanced search" to limit to studies with results

The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) is the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the executive departments and agencies of the Federal Government.

The Congressional Directory is the official directory of the U.S. Congress, prepared by the Joint Committee on Printing (JCP). Published since 1888, the Congressional Directory presents short biographies of each member of the Senate and House, listed by state or district, and additional data, such as committee memberships, terms of service, administrative assistants and/or secretaries, and room and telephone numbers.

The Congressional Record is the official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress. It is published daily when Congress is in session. GPO Access contains Congressional Record volumes from 140 (1994) to the present. At the back of each daily issue is the "Daily Digest," which summarizes the day's floor and committee activities.

The Constitution of the United States comprises the primary law of the U.S. Federal Government. It also describes the three chief branches of the Federal Government and their jurisdictions. In addition, it lays out the basic rights of citizens of the United States.

Data about the U.S. population, economy, businesses, education, families & living arrangements, housing, employment, income & poverty, health, and International trade

Provides economic information on prices, wages, production, business activity, purchasing power, credit, money and Federal finance.

All data reported to the Department of Education, with the exception of personnel and administrative data.

Official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents.

The U.S. Government Publishing Office disseminates official information from all three branches of the Federal Government.

NASA's current and historical technical literature and engineering results - over 500,000 aerospace-related citations, over 200,000 full-text online documents, and over 500,000 images and videos.

The Occupational Outlook Handbook is a nationally recognized source of career information, designed to provide valuable assistance to individuals making decisions about their future work lives. The Handbook is revised every two years.

Official publication of United States Presidents' public writings, addresses, and remarks.

U.S. government bookstore.

Text of public and private laws enacted from the 104th Congress to the present.

The provisions of the Social Security Act (the Act), regulations issued under the Act, and precedential case decisions (rulings).

The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.

U.S. Government bookstore items listed by subject.

The United States Code is the codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States.

Comprehensive information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches including addresses, phone numbers, etc.

The official record of the rulings, orders, case tables, and other proceedings of the Supreme Court of the United States.

USA Counties features over 6,500 data items for the United States, States and counties from a variety of sources.

Published every Monday and is the official publication of presidential statements, messages, remarks, and other materials released by the White House Press Secretary.

A global science gateway to national and international scientific databases and portals.

U.S. Geological maps - historical maps, topographical maps, etc.

Maps of America from more than 20 federal agencies