Nursing: Databases
Databases For Nursing Research
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowComprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.
- CINAHL Plus with Full TextProvides abstracts and indexing as well as full text for hundreds of journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials with indexing back to 1937. The database covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters, as well as Evidence-Based Care Sheets.
- Health Source: Nursing / Academic EditionNearly 520 scholarly full-text journals focusing on nursing, allied health fields, and many medical disciplines as well as abstracts and indexing for over 550 journals. Also included are the USP Pharmacopoeia DI: Volume II Advice for the Lay Patient and Stedman's Medical Dictionary.
- MEDLINE with Full Text (at EBSCOhost)The database offers information related to the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. MEDLINE with Full Text provides full text for nearly 1,200 journals indexed in MEDLINE.
- Nursing & Allied Health Database (ProQuest)Includes abstracting and indexing for more than 690 titles, with over 570 titles in full text. This database provides users with healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more.
- Research Library (ProQuest)Abstracts and indexing for over 2,600, as well as full text for over 1,700 scholarly journals and general magazines.
- GALILEOAll GALILEO databases are accessible from this main page.
- Merck Manual of Diagnosis and TherapyThe Online Medical Library is updated periodically with new information, and contains photographs, and audio and video material not present in the print versions.
Consumer Health Databases
- Medline PlusMEDLINEplus has extensive information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over 600 diseases and conditions. There are also lists of hospitals and physicians, a medical encyclopedia and a medical dictionary, health information in Spanish, extensive information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, health information from the media, and links to thousands of clinical trials.
- Mayo ClinicThe Mayo Clinic website provides extensive consumer-facing information about a variety of conditions, symptoms, and treatments.
- Consumer Health CompleteA comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content, including full text from many health reference books and encyclopedias and thousands of health reports as well as physician-generated videos and hundreds of medical images and diagrams.