Education: Find Articles in Databases
About Databases
A database is an intentional, organized collection of data that can be efficiently retrieved.
Most library databases are collections of articles from magazines, journals and newspapers. Most of these articles can't be found on the web for free. Roberts Library has about 300 databases, but those identified on this page might be especially helpful for your Education courses.
EDUCATION Databases for MAJORS
- Education Database (ProQuest)Over 790 top educational publications,most in full text.
- ERIC (at EBSCOhost)Journal and non-journal citations about education. Journal articles are identified with ERIC numbers that begin with EJ (e.g., EJ777687). Non-journal documents are assigned ERIC numbers that begin wtih ED (e.g., ED493647). ED documents include books; conference proceedings and presentations; bibliographies; Congressional hearings and reports; reports on federal/state standards, testing, and regulations; research reports; U.S. Department of Education and contractor reports; and working papers from established research and policy organizations. The ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) database comes from the U.S. Department of Education.
- Professional Development Collection (education)Professional development articles and pamphlets,and searchable full text for over 500 journals covering the most current topics in the field of education.
Databases for K-12 Students
- Explora for ElementaryIncludes these databases: American Heritage Children's Dictionary, Book Collection: Nonfiction, Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, History Reference Center,Primary Search
- Explora for Middle SchoolIncludes these databases: Book Collection: Nonfiction, Consumer Health Complete, Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, Health Source-Consumer Edition, History Reference Center, Literary Reference Center, MAS Ultra, MasterFILE Elite, Middle Search Plus, Newspaper Source, Primary Search, TOPICsearch
- Explora for High SchoolIncludes these databases: Advanced Placement Source, Book Collection: Nonfiction, Business Source Complete, Columbia Encyclopedia, Consumer Health Complete, ERIC, Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, GreenFILE, Health Source, History Reference Center, Literary Reference Center, MAS Ultra, MasterFILE Elite, Middle Search Plus, Newspaper Source, Primary Search, TOPICsearch, Vocational and Career Collection
Recommended GENERAL Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA multi-disciplinary database, including full-text to more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals. Indexes and abstracts 10,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
- Research Library (ProQuest)Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 subjects and topics.
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource CenterA source for information on social issues. Access viewpoint articles (many have a BIAS), topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.
- Films on DemandOver 17,000 professional quality educational videos covering all disciplines. Users can customize video clips.
Other Related Databases
- Social Science DatabaseOver 570 titles, with more than 340 available in full text, in fields like anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
- PsycINFOScholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in behavioral science and mental health. Also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, linguistics, anthropology, and others
GALILEO: All Roberts Library Databases
Database List
|
When you need: |
Use this Database: |
|
General Research |
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) |
|
General Research |
|
|
Scholarly Education Journals |
|
|
Scholarly Journals/ Educator Info |
|
|
Educator Info |
|
|
Education in Georgia |
|
|
Newspaper articles |
|
|
Career Information |
|
|
|
|
|
Use these Databases to teach |
K-12 students: |
|
|
|
BUILD A DATABASE SEARCH
Advanced Search for best results! Like this:
Searching: Academic Search Complete
Box 1 You may want to begin by searching a broad topic.
Then browse results to find one or more relevant articles that interest you. What terms does the database use to describe these articles in their subjects or abstracts? What are related words? You may want to modify your search as you find better or different terms.
AND Box 2 Focus your search using a second box with additional keywords. You may string similar words together in the box using OR between the words. Also, refine using limiters in the left-side menu – date, scholarly/peer-reviewed journals, subject and others.
AND Box 3 You may want to narrow further. One way to search multiple terms at once is by using the *. Psychol* will find articles including words that begin with psychol, like psychology and psychological, etc.
Find It
In your list of database search results, some citations will not include the full text of the article.
When that happens, in most Dalton State databases you will see a tool called 
to help you access the full text of articles.
The button will link you to the articles if they are available in other DSC library databases.
If that doesn't help, look to see if there is an icon indicating
. This is an icon meaning the article can be found free, on the web.
- Interlibrary LoanIf our collection doesn't include the article you want, you may request it from another library. You tell us what you want and we'll find out who has it and ask for a copy--usually for free.