Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Site Map

Social Work: Databases

Databases For Social Work Research

 GALILEO

Academic Search Complete

This scholarly collection offers full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study, including archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic and multicultural studies, food science and technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion and theology, women's studies, and other fields.

CINAHL

CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters.

Civil Rights Digital Library

The Civil Rights Digital Library (CRDL) promotes an enhanced understanding of the Civil Rights Movement through its three principal components:

  • a digital video archive delivering 30 hours of historical news film allowing learners to be nearly eyewitnesses to key events of the Civil Rights Movement
  • a civil rights portal providing a seamless virtual library on the Civil Rights Movement by aggregating metadata from 75 libraries and allied organizations from across the nation
  • instructional materials to facilitate the use of the video content in the learning process


Georgia Legislative Documents

The database currently contains the Acts of the General Assembly of the State of Georgia for the years 1799-1999, with a few gaps.

 
LexisNexis Academic

Many types of publications are included: newspapers (in English, other languages, and translations of international papers), legal news, general interest magazines, medical journals, trade publications, company financial information, transcripts, wire service reports, government publications (such as the federal case law, U.S. Code, Code of Federal Regulations, Congressional Testimony, etc.), law reviews, and reference works (such as the Forbes Annual Directory, the Official Guide/American Marketplace and the US Global Trade Outlook).

New Georgia Encyclopedia

The New Georgia Encyclopedia provides access to authoritative information on people, places, events, history, and other topics about the state of Georgia. The site includes articles and images on every aspect of the state and includes links to related Internet sites.

Social Sciences Journals (ProQuest)

ProQuest Social Science Journals is a definitive resource for those who need access to a variety of scientific journals. The database includes over 570 titles, with more than 340 available in full text. ProQuest Social Science Journals provides information on hundreds of topics, including:

  • Addiction studies
  • Urban studies
  • Family studies
  • International relations

Social Services Abstracts

References and abstracts of research on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, gerontology, and community development.

Social Work Abstracts

Social Work Abstracts offers extensive coverage of more than 450 social work and human services journals dating back to 1965.

The Sociological Collection

Provides information on all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture, and social structure.

WorldCat (the OCLC Online Union Catalog) is the world's most comprehensive bibliography containing millions of bibliographic records cataloged by OCLC member libraries. It includes books, websites and internet resources, manuscripts, maps, computer programs, musical scores, films and slides, newspapers, journals and magazines, sound recordings, articles, chapters, papers, and videotapes.

WorldCat Dissertations and Thesis includes millions of records for all dissertations, theses, and published material based on theses cataloged by OCLC members, including all subjects. Links to openly available electronic copies are provided when available.

Find a database

When looking for a specific database, go to GALILEO on the library home page (log in with your MyDalton State user name and ID if you are off campus):

Once in GALILEO, go to the Databases A-Z tab to search for your Database:

Type in the Database name.

 

When looking for a specific journal, simply to go to the Journals A-Z tab and type in the name of the journal.