Literature Databases
When searching databases, bring up multiple search boxes by selecting "Advanced Search."
- GALILEOUse Advanced GALILEO search. Check off "Literature & Writing" discipline.
- Literature Criticism OnlineThe largest curated online collection of literary criticism in the world.
- Literature Online Premium (LION) (ProQuest)Full-text library of over 330,000 works of British and American poetry, drama and prose.
- MLA International BibliographyDetailed bibliography of journal articles, books, and dissertations
- Literary Reference Center PlusCombines information from major respected reference works, books, and literary journals
GENERAL DATABASES
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA multi-disciplinary database, including full-text to more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals. Indexes and abstracts 10,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
- Research Library (ProQuest)Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 subjects and topics.
- Films on DemandOver 17,000 professional quality educational videos covering all disciplines. Users can customize video clips.
GALILEO: All Roberts Library Databases
Literature Search using GALILEO Advanced
Chat with a Librarian Here:
PLACES TO FIND BOOKS
- GIL-Find Library catalogThe gil-FIND catalog at Dalton State searches for books, (print and e-books), government documents, videos and video clips (from Films-on-Demand) and more.
- GIL ExpressUsing the Library Catalog (gil-FIND) link, change the default to University System of Georgia libraries and log in, using your Dalton State credentials (Sign in at upper right). Current DSC students, faculty, and staff may request and borrow materials not owned by the library through a service called GIL Express.
- WorldCat (Public Version)WorldCat is a catalog of materials owned by libraries worldwide. If we don't own a title, request it through Interlibrary Loan (below).
- Interlibrary LoanIf you need a book not available in the GIL-Find or GIL Universal Catalogs (or an article not in our databases) current DSC students, faculty, and staff may request materials through Interlibrary Loan.
American History Highlights
Pivotal Decades: 1900-1920 by Call Number: CIRCULATING COLLECTION E756 .C78 1990
The Anxious Decades:1920-1941 by Call Number: CIRCULATING COLLECTION E784 .P37 1992
Daily Life in the United States, 1920-1939 by Call Number: CIRCULATING COLLECTION E169 .K985 2002
Daily Life in the United States, 1960-1990 by Call Number: CIRCULATING COLLECTION E169.02 .M3547 1997
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life by Call Number: REFERENCE Ref GT31 .G74 2004
