Skip to main content Site Map

Genealogy: Home

Genealogy

Civil War Ancestor Search

http://www.itd.nps.gov/cwss/soldiers.cfm

Getting Started

http://www.archives.gov/research/genealogy/

http://usgenweb.org/research/starting.shtml

Whitfield County Ancestor Search

http://www.thegagenweb.com/gawhitfield/

Military Records

http://www.fold3.com/institution-index.php

Vietnam Casuaties

http://www.archives.gov/research/military/vietnam-war/casualty-lists/state-level-alpha.html

Georgia Genealogy

http://www.thegaproject.org/

Georgia Archives

http://sos.georgia.gov/archives/

Galileo's Ancestry Database

http://www.galileo.usg.edu/express?link=zual

How to search for your Civil War ancestors

http://www.archives.gov/research/military/civil-war/civil-war-genealogy-resources/

Chattanooga-Hamilton County Bicentennial Library Local History and Genealogy
There is a brief guide to genealogical materials.
http://www.lib.chattanooga.gov/localHist/localHist.html

Christine's Genealogy Website
This site provides links to sources for African American genealogy from across the United States.
http://www.ccharity.com


Cyndi's List
This is a gateway to thousands of genealogy web links. Categories include African Americans, German, LDS & Family History
Centers, and Scotland to name a few. A particularly helpful feature is the Surnames, Family Associations & Family
Newsletters section which gives hundreds of sites arranged alphabetically by surname.
http://www.cyndislist.com

Ellis Island
This site provides access to records of the passengers and ship crew members who came through Ellis Island between 1892
and 1924.
http://www.ellisisland.org

FamilySearch (LDS)
Family Search is from the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. This Internet genealogy service allows users to put in
an ancestor's name, a keyword, or create a customized search.
http://www.familysearch.org


Find a Grave
http://www.findagrave.com

Online Searchable Death Indexes & Records
Links are given to free and fee-based death indexes and records for the U.S. and Canada.
http://www.deathindexes.com

RootsWeb
This is the oldest and largest free genealogy site on the web.
http://rootsweb.com


Tennessee History and Genealogy
The Tennessee State Library and Archives has collected useful web links to assist in genealogy searching. Its Links to Other
Sites includes web sites for census, genealogy: general, genealogy: Tennessee, maps, and military records.
http://www.tn.gov/tsla/Collections.htm


TNGenWeb Project
This site, which is a project of USGenWeb, aims "to create a source for online genealogical research for every county" in
Tennessee.
http://www.tngenweb.org


USGenWeb Project
This site links to genealogical resources in all 50 states.
http://www.usgenweb.org

Subject Guide

David Brown's picture
David Brown
Contact:
706-272-2048
Brown Building Rm. 311