Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Site Map

Citing Sources: Chicago/Turabian Style

Citation in MLA, APA, Chicago, and other styles

Chicago Style

The Chicago Manual of Style provides standard guidelines that authors must follow when citing sources, reporting data, or formatting a manuscript.  

Chicago Style citations fall into two categories: 

The Humanities system includes notes followed by a bibliography.   The Humanities system is used for subjects such as literature, arts and history.

The Author-Date system includes an in-text citation followed by a References page(s). The author-date system is used for subjects such as physical, natural and social sciences.                 

Copies of the Chicago Manual of Style are available at the Reference desk and older editions are available in the Circulating Collection. 

Turabian Style

Turabian style is most often used for courses in the literature, arts, and history. It is based on two systems of documentation:

      Notes-Bibliography style (Bibliography style)

      Parenthetical citations-Reference list style (Reference List style)

Turabian style is very similar to Chicago style.  However, The Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses and Dissertations by Kate Turabian provides standard guidelines for student papers and scholarly research not intended for publication.  The Chicago style includes publishing details. 

Copies of The Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses and Dissertations are available at the Reference desk and older editions are available in the Circulating Collection.