HUMN 1201 Expressions of Culture: Internet Resources

Bandy Heritage Center of Northwest Georgia

Tunnel Hill Heritage Center

The collections, housed in the Library of Congress, document achievements in architecture, engineering, and design in the United States and its territories through a comprehensive range of building types and engineering technologies including examples as diverse as the Pueblo of Acoma, houses, windmills, one-room schools, the Golden Gate Bridge, and buildings designed by Frank Lloyd Wright.

RIBApix covers world architecture of all periods together with related subjects such as interior design, landscape, topography, planning, construction and the decorative arts. Many of the images are also of social documentary importance.

The Web Gallery of Art is a virtual museum and searchable database of European painting and sculpture of the Romanesque, Gothic, Renaissance, Baroque, Neoclassicism, Romanticism periods (1000-1850), currently containing over 28.400 reproductions. Picture commentaries, artist biographies are available.

EDSITEment offers a treasure trove for teachers, students, and parents searching for high-quality material on the Internet in the subject areas of literature and language arts, foreign languages, art and culture, and history and social studies.

The collections of the Prints & Photographs Division include photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings. While international in scope, the collections are particularly rich in materials produced in, or documenting the history of, the United States and the lives, interests and achievements of the American people.

Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google.

Smarthistory.org is a free, not-for-profit, multi-media web-book designed as a dynamic enhancement (or even substitute) for the traditional art history textbook. Dr. Beth Harris and Dr. Steven Zucker began smARThistory in 2005 by creating a blog featuring free audio guides in the form of podcasts for use in The Museum of Modern Art and the Metropolitan Museum of Art.

Explore museums from around the world, discover and view hundreds of artworks at incredible zoom levels, and even create and share your own collection of masterpieces

Top adult and top children's titles

The Barnes & Noble Review is an online publication that brings readers smart and useful appraisals of books, music, and DVDs, as well as essays, interviews, and other features.

Choice: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries is the premier source for reviews of academic books, electronic media, and Internet resources of interest to those in higher education. Online site permits limited access to reviews, but Roberts library has print copies available.

Free collection of book reviews published in the New York Times since 1981.

NPR features regular book reviews from professor and "All Things Considered" reviewer Alan Cheuse, "Day to Day" contributor Karen Grigsby Bates and "Fresh Air" reviewer Maureen Corrigan.

The "Library of Southern Literature" includes a wide range of literary works of the American South published before 1924. This collection was originally based on Dr. Robert Bain's bibliography of the hundred most important southern literary works and continues to expand under the guidance of scholarly advisors Dr. Joseph M. Flora and Dr. William L. Andrews.

The Victorian Web is the WWW translation of Brown University's Context 61, which served as a resource for courses in Victorian literature .

Free lecture notes, exams and videos. MIT OpenCourseWare (OCW) is a web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content.

The British Women Romantic Poet's Project is producing an online scholarly archive consisting of E-text editions of poetry by British and Irish women written (not necessarily published) between 1789 (the onset of the French Revolution) and 1832 (the passage of the Reform Act), a period traditionally known in English literary history as the Romantic period.

The Cervantes Project is comprised of the Cervantes bibliography, electronic editions of Cervantes' complete works, and a digital archive.

The ILTweb Digital Dante Project is a long-term effort of the Institute for Learning Technologies at Columbia University to prototype and develop an online, multimedia Dante-related academic resource combining traditional elements of scholarly research with new communication and presentation possibilities enabled by networked digital technology.

This digital collection was launched to accompany the 2009 Poe Bicentennial exhibition, From Out That Shadow: The Life and Legacy of Edgar Allan Poe, a joint venture of the Ransom Center and the Small Special Collections Library, University of Virginia. It incorporates images of all of Poe's manuscripts and letters at the Ransom Center (linked to transcriptions by the Poe Society of Baltimore) with a selection of related archival materials, two books by Poe annotated by the author, sheet music b

Sponsored by the Sonoma State University library, this digital archive includes images, writings, biographical information, as well as lesson plans for teachers.

Offers unfettered, intuitive access to reliable texts, accurate and exhaustive notes, and the most recently discovered letters and documents.

The Thoreau Institute library (“The Henley Library”) holds more than 60,000 items that include books, manuscripts, periodicals, art, music, maps, pamphlets, correspondence, and personal histories.

A hypermedia archive sponsored by the Library of Congress and supported by the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, the University of Rochester, and the Scholarly Editions and Translations Division of the National Endowment for the Humanities.

A Woman's Wit: Jane Austen's Life and Legacy includes first and early illustrated editions of Austen's novels, as well as drawings and prints depicting people, places, and events of biographical significance, as well as personal letters.

210 North Pentz Street
Dalton, GA 30720-4226
706-226-6618

904 Cherokee St.
Dalton, GA 30720
706-278-4796

520 West Waugh Street
Dalton, GA 30720-3474
(706) 259-7264

400 River Street
located next to Coolidge Park in the North Shore
Chattanooga, TN

411 North Park Drive
Dalton, GA 30720-2636
(706) 529-5664

709 Broad Street
Chattanooga, TN 37402-1833
(423) 757-5050

Check their "Events Coming Soon" section.

Check their "Events" tab for upcoming productions.