LibGuides: COMM 1110 Fundamentals of Speech: Databases

What's a database?

A database is an intentional, organized collection of data that can be efficiently retrieved. In libraries, you usually think of article databases, (but there are also databases of videos, art, statistics, etc).

GENERAL DATABASES

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This scholarly collection offers full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study, including archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic and multicultural studies, food science and technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion and theology, women's studies, and other fields.
Research Library (ProQuest)
Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 subjects and topics.
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
A source for information on social issues. Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.
Films on Demand
Over 17,000 professional quality educational videos covering all disciplines. Users can customize video clips.

BUILD A DATABASE SEARCH

Advanced Search for best results! Like this:

Searching: Academic Search Complete

Box 1 You may want to begin by searching a broad topic.

Then browse results to find one or more relevant articles that interest you. What terms does the database use to describe these articles in their subjects or abstracts? What are related words? You may want to modify your search as you find better or different terms.

AND Box 2 Focus your search using a second box with additional keywords. You may string similar words together in the box using OR between the words. Also, refine using limiters in the left-side menu – date, scholarly/peer-reviewed journals, subject and others.

AND Box 3 You may want to narrow further. One way to search multiple terms at once is by using the *. Psychol* will find articles including words that begin with psychol, like psychology and psychological, etc.

Find It

In your list of database search results, some citations will not include the full text of the article.

When that happens, in most Dalton State databases you will see a tool called to help you access the full text of articles.

The button will link you to the articles if they are available in other DSC library databases.

If that doesn't help, look to see if there is an icon indicating. This is an icon meaning the article can be found free, on the web.

Interlibrary Loan
If our collection doesn't include the article you want, you may request it from another library. You tell us what you want and we'll find out who has it and ask for a copy--usually for free.