Appalachian Studies: Web Sites

Affrilachia is a term that focuses on the cultural contributions of African American artists, writers, and musicians in the Appalachian region of the United States.

Literary journal: fiction, poetry, interviews and reviews. Covers an area roughly from Kentucky northward along the mountain range.

The collections include the Beulah C. Campbell Collection, the Lumbee Indians: an Annotated Bibliography, and Documenting Appalachia, which consists of the Abrams Folksong Collection, the Greer Folksong Collection, Appalachian State Historical Photograph Collection, and Appalachian Ethnicity Resources.

Collections include personal papers of individuals and families, institutional records of businesses and organizations, photographs and moving images of rural and community life, as well as sound recordings of Appalachia in word and song.

The Berea College Appalachian Sound Archives is mainly comprised of non-commercial sound and video recordings that document Appalachian history and culture and the history of Berea College. These recordings are especially strong in the areas of fiddle and banjo tunes; ballads and songs; Old Regular Baptist singing and preaching; folktales and legends; and oral history.

For over 30 years Ferrum College's Blue Ridge Institute & Museum has documented the folkways of the people living in and around the Blue Ridge Mountains.

The PhotoTour contains hundreds of photographs of Appalachian places, events, people, and landscapes. You can narrow down your display options by showing only a particular state. Hover your mouse over an image, and a description will appear in the center of the photos. To change to descriptions appearing on a mouse click rather than a hover, use the navigation at the top of the page.

Craft Revival: Shaping Western North Carolina Past and Present — a website and digital archive — is a project of Hunter Library at Western Carolina University. Its aim is to create a research-based website that documents an historic effort to revive handcraft in the western part of the state. The project draws from a wealth of documents, photographs, and craft objects that are housed in archival repositories of the region's museums, guilds, and craft schools.

The Digital Library of Appalachia provides online access to archival and historical materials related to the culture of the southern and central Appalachian region. The contents of the DLA are drawn from special collections of Appalachian College Association member libraries.

Expatalacia is a project by a group who moved away and then back to Appalachia. This page is about black history in Walker County, Georgia (next to Whitfield to the west, and in DSC's service area)

Gallery of photos archived in the Wisconsin Historical Society collection. Images of Farmers Union, Labor Unions, student activities, and musicians.

The collections are particularly rich in materials produced in, or documenting the history of, the United States and the lives, interests and achievements of the American people.

Select the Photo Album link to view images and maps of the Little River Railroad and Lumber Company.

The Tennessee Virtual Archive (TeVA) is a program of the State Library and Archives to create a digital repository of Tennessee history and culture. TeVA provides a searchable array of historical records, photographs, documents, maps, postcards, film, audio and other original materials of enduring value.