Social Work and Related Databases
- Social Science DatabaseOver 570 titles, with more than 340 available in full text, provide information on hundreds of topics, including: Addiction studies, Urban studies, Family studies and International relations
- Sociology Database (ProQuest)Access to the full-text of more than 310 journals in sociology and social work.
- Sociological CollectionMore than 475 full-text titles provide information on all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture, and social structure.
Databases in related disciplines:
- Education Database (ProQuest)Over 790 top educational publications, including more than 615 of the titles in full text.
- PsycINFOScholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in behavioral science and mental health. Also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, linguistics, anthropology, and others.
- Criminal Justice Database (ProQuest)Research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends.
- Public Health Database (ProQuest)Core public health literature from thousands of publications, with journals, dissertations, videos, news, trade publications, reports, and more,
- CDC(Centers for Disease Control and Prevention)Information on current diseases and illnesses, vaccine information, general health information, safety, and wellness, statistical data and CDC publications.
GENERAL DATABASES
- GALILEOAll of these databases are part of the GALILEO collection.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA multi-disciplinary database, including full-text to more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals. Indexes and abstracts 10,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
- Research Library (ProQuest)Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 subjects and topics.
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource CenterA source for information on social issues. Access viewpoint articles (many have a BIAS), topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.
- Films on DemandOver 17,000 professional quality educational videos covering all disciplines. Users can customize video clips.
GALILEO: All Roberts Library Databases
BUILD A DATABASE SEARCH
Advanced Search for best results! Like this:
Box 1 You may want to begin by searching a broad topic.
Then browse results to find one or more relevant articles that interest you. What terms does the database use to describe these articles in their subjects or abstracts? What are related words? You may want to modify your search as you find better or different terms.
AND Box 2 Focus your search using a second box with additional keywords. You may string similar words together in the box using OR between the words. Also, refine using limiters in the left-side menu – date, scholarly/peer-reviewed journals, subject and others.
AND Box 3 You may want to narrow further. One way to search multiple terms at once is by using the *. Child* will find articles including child, and also words that begin with child, like children or childhood.
Background and Data Web Sources
You may Google to try to find supporting statistics, but Google only searches the first level or two of websites and your statistic may be deeper. These are reliable websites to search for the info you need. If not, ask a librarian for help!
- Statistical Abstract of the United StatesAs a comprehensive collection of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States, it is a snapshot of America and its people. It is also a guide to statistical sources ("What organization has the most authoritative data on foreclosures?")
- Green BookData on U.S. federal social service programs. "The Green Book is compiled by the staff of the Committee on Ways and Means of the U.S. House of Representatives. It provides program descriptions and historical data on social and economic topics, including Social Security, employment, earnings, welfare, child support, health insurance, the elderly, families with children, poverty and taxation. It has become a standard reference work for those interested in the direction of social policy in the United States."
- American FactFinderData about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas. The data in American FactFinder come from several censuses and surveys.
- Georgia State Partnership for Food and Language Nutrition HealthHealth disparities-- preventable differences in health outcomes based on race, ethnicity, disability, sex, geography, sexual identity, and socioeconomic status. Race and minority health disparities result from social factors that generate inequalities among the different racial and ethnic groups.
- National Center for Educational StatisticsThe primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.
- The State of America's Children® 2017 ReportSee state reports here: https://www.childrensdefense.org/policy/resources/state-office-reports/
- Pew Research CenterRespected polls and analysis of current issues and social trends.
- Assistance ListingsAll Federal programs available to State and local governments
- Our World in DataResearch and data to make progress against the world's largest problems
Find It and Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
In your list of database search results, some citations will not include the full text of the article.
When that happens, in most Dalton State databases you will see a tool called 
to help you access the full text of articles.
The button will link you to the articles if they are available in other DSC library databases.
If that doesn't help, look to see if there is an icon indicating
. This is an icon meaning the article can be found free, on the web.
- Interlibrary LoanIf our collection doesn't include the article you want, you may request it from another library. You tell us what you want and we'll find out who has it and ask for a copy--usually for free.
