Open Textbook Resources: Images

Photos of historical events, monuments, and tours of DOI officials searchable by month and year.

Browse by subject or time period for historical photographs. General information about copyright and other rights in the American Memory materials is provided in the Legal Notices page that links from every American Memory page.

NASA imagery, video and audio material may be used for educational or informational purposes, including photo collections, textbooks, and public exhibits.

Exhibits included photographs, documents, and video images.

This webpage provides links to public domain digital images of many national parks, monuments, battlefields, historic sites and related areas.

Patrons must make their own rights assessment in light of the intended use. The nature of historical archival collections means that copyright or other information about restrictions may be difficult or impossible to determine. The Library provides information as a service to aid patrons in determining the appropriate use of an item, but that determination ultimately rests with the patron.

The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service’s National Digital Library is a searchable collection of selected images, historical artifacts, audio clips, publications, and video, most of which are in the public domain. Those not in the public domain are intended for personal, private use.

We do ask that you please give credit to the photographer/videographer or creator and to the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, in a format similar to the example below:

Credit: John Doe/USFWS

Most NOAA photos and slides are in the public domain and CANNOT be copyrighted.
There is no fee for downloading any images on the NOAA Photo Library. Educational use is encouraged. Credit MUST be given to the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration/Department of Commerce. Where a photographer is noted, please credit the photographer and his/her affiliated organization as well.

Looking for music, video, writing, code, or other creative works? Find creative commons licensed works that may be used for educational purpose free of charge.

Includes public domain images from a variety of institutions including museums, libraries, and archives located around the world as well as images available by individual photographers that may be used without restriction.

Pics4Learning is a safe, free image library for education. Teachers and students can use the copyright-friendly photos and images for classrooms, multimedia projects, web sites, videos, portfolios, or any other project in an educational setting.

Over 15,919 images currently with new images added regularly. You may download low-resolution images directly from the web site for personal, research or study purposes for free. This includes classroom use and student projects. It does NOT include using images to populate online courses (even if password protected).

Database of 16,702,656 freely usable media files (sounds, video, images) to which anyone can contribute. Search for Content by Status (Creative Commons or Public Domain)