ENGL 3000 Writing for Education/Social Sciences: Research Study
Five Steps to find a Research Study
I hope this Guide works for you if you aren't feeling confident with the research process. Using library databases is really a good idea for all kinds of practical and educational reasons (I can explain why if you want me to, just ask). Maybe these numbered boxes in columns one and two will help you to step through the process. Email me if you get stuck!
Note that, for step 1, you don't have to choose a Subject Database that is relevant to the research topic you chose. You can skip down to Box 1b and choose a general database, but Subject Databases are good to know about and use.
1/ To Find a Research Study to Cite, Choose a SUBJECT DATABASE to focus your search
- Arts & Humanities Database (ProQuest)Peer-reviewed journals, selected trade, and consumer titles relevant to applied arts and cultural studies
- CINAHL Plus with Full TextScholarly journal content with specialized search features.
- Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
- Criminal Justice Database (ProQuest)Article of research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends.
- Education Database (ProQuest)Access to 790+ top educational publications, including more than 615 of the titles in full text.
- PsycINFOAmerican Psychological Association's (APA), collection of scholarly articles, abstracts, book chapters, books, and dissertations of peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.
- Social Science DatabaseIncludes 570+ scientific journal titles in Anthropology, Communication, Demography, Economics, Education, Political Science, Policy Studies, Psychology, Social work, Sociology, etc.
- Sociological Collection475+ full-text titles in all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture, and social structure.
1b/ Choose a GENERAL DATABASE if the subject databases aren't relevant to your topic
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowIncludes scholarly journals in fields such as archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic and multicultural studies, food science and technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion and theology, women's studies, etc.
- Research Library (ProQuest)Multidiscipline databse including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
- GALILEOAll of these databases are part of the GALILEO collection.
2/ Build an ADVANCED SEARCH and be sure to Limit to Scholarly or Peer Reviewed Journals
Advanced Search for best results! Like this:
Searching: Academic Search Complete
Box 1 You may want to begin by searching a broad topic.
Then browse results to find one or more relevant articles that interest you. What terms does the database use to describe these articles in their subjects or abstracts? What are related words? You may want to modify your search as you find better or different terms.
AND Box 2 Focus your search using a second box with additional keywords. You may string similar words together in the box using OR between the words. Also, refine using limiters in the left-side menu – date, scholarly/peer-reviewed journals, subject and others.
AND Box 3 You may want to narrow further. One way to search multiple terms at once is by using the *. Psychol* will find articles including words that begin with psychol, like psychology and psychological, etc.
2b/ Build an ADVANCED SEARCH (watch if the above box doesn't make sense)
3/ Use FIND IT to access the full article if you don't see HTML or PDF with the record
In your list of database search results, some citations will not include the full text of the article.
When that happens, in most Dalton State databases you will see a tool called 
to help you access the full text of articles.
The button will link you to the articles if they are available in other DSC library databases.
If that doesn't help, look to see if there is an icon indicating
. This is an icon meaning the article can be found free, on the web.
- Interlibrary LoanIf our collection doesn't include the article you want, you may request it from another library. You tell us what you want and we'll find out who has it and ask for a copy--usually for free.
4/ Make sure it is the right kind of RESEARCH ARTICLE you need
- Reading Scholarly ArticlesLimiting your database search to Scholarly or Peer Reviewed journals will only partially get you to EXPERIMENTAL research articles. There are many types of scholarly articles, so use this sheet to help. Experimental research articles have a pretty standard layout. All of the sections may not be labeled, but they will be present, even in the Abstract.
5/ Use APA to cite your source properly
For further details, ask at the Library for copies of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.
